Fajitas, fajitas, fajitas!!

A few weeks ago I was hunting online for a good vegan fajita recipe. Can’t quite remember what happened but I must have been distracted by something because I never actually got round to making them. Fast forward to today and guess what I’ve just cooked?

I bought the Bosh! recipe book this weekend after thinking about it for a couple of weeks. I’m really impressed with this book because there are quite a few recipes that I really want to try straight away which, to me, is the measure of a good cookbook. Anyway, tonight I made their Sweet Pepper Fajitas.

One of the things I like most about Mexican food is that it usually involves several accompaniments so it’s a bit like a mini event just eating it! Today was no exception- I made a salsa using a recipe from BBC Good Food which is also the site where I found a recipe for lime pickled onions a good while ago which has become a regular fixture in my menus ever since (the black bean soup is also really nice for anyone who followed the link!) I was all set to make my own refried beans too, but then I found a tin in my local supermarket which was all too convenient, especially when I was already planning to make the other side dishes. To keep calories down (and stay in favour with Slimming World!) I decided to make it into more of a ‘bowl’ and just use one corn tortilla each rather than getting too carried away. I also rustled up a quick lime and coriander rice by adding some chopped coriander leaves and the juice of half a lime to some cooked brown rice- nothing fancy but it all adds to the experience!!

The fajitas were lovely- by cooking the peppers for half an hour they had really softened and taken on the flavour from the spices so that their sweetness really came through. The other thing which I really liked was the colours- they do say that you eat with your eyes after all- which was a good job because, let’s be honest, refried beans are not the most vibrant of foods so they needed all the help they could get!

This is definitely a meal that I will make again- it was so simple but very tasty and pretty healthy too! Taking into account all of the dishes, there was a grand total of 23g of protein, 11g of which came from the refried beans alone. The nutritional information is courtesy of My Fitness Pal, as the premium version tells you which foods you have eaten contain the most protein/ carbs/ fat. This is all very interesting and good to know but I still don’t know if I like it enough to pay for it. Having said that, it’s a pretty reasonable fee for a year of extras and, if nothing else, it means that if anyone asks me where vegans get their protein, I will be able to give such a detailed answer that they’ll never dare to ask again!!

Leave a comment